Panafrican News Agency

Zimbabwe's main opposition leader Nelson Chamisa still remains president

Harare, Zimbabwe (PANA)   -   Zimbabwe’s main opposition Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) leader Nelson Chamisa will remain president after clinching all 13 nominations from the party’s provinces uncontested, ahead of its fifth national congress next month.

“Change arrives & begins now. Thank you Machinja for an emphatic 13/13 nomination, vote and endorsement as the 2nd President of MDC, the People’s party after our Icon the late Dr MT. Help me pray for the grace and wisdom to lead Zimbabwe to happiness, prosperity & freedom. #Godisinit,” Chamisa tweeted today.

As previously reported by Panapress, Chamisa said after the elective congress, the MDC would embark on a road map to arrest the economic and political decay in the country which would include national protests.

The fifth elective congress was announced in February this year with May 24 to 26, next month, slated for holding that congress where the party will elect its new leadership to lead it for the next five years.

The leadership roles to be contested include the President, Vice-President, National Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General, Treasurer General and Deputy Treasurer General.

“All nominees have been given up to Tuesday to accept nominations or to withdraw. Where more than two candidates accept the nomination, they are encouraged to discuss in the spirit of consensus building. The Electoral Commission shall then produce ballots on every position where more than one candidate decide to contest,” MDC spokesperson Jacob Mafume, in a statement today said.

After the announcement of next month’s elective congress, each of the MDC’s 13 provinces held elective congresses to nominate candidates for the leadership positions to be contested.  

Below are the results of the nominations for the MDC leadership ahead of next month's elective congress:

President: Nelson Chamisa; Vice-President, Morgen Komichi; National Chairperson, Tabitha Khumalo; and Vice- Chairperson, Happymore Chidziva.

The rest are Secretary-General, Chalton Hwende; Deputy Secretary-General: Concillia Chinanzvavana; Treasurer General, David Coltart; and Deputy Treasurer, Tapiwa Mashakada.

The 13 provinces which held the nomination congress are the North America provincial congress on April 6 in Ohio, United States; MDC Matabeleland South provincial congress (April 7, Gwanda); MDC Matabeleland North provincial congress (April 8, Lupane); MDC Midlands provincial congress (April 10, Gweru); and MDC Mashonaland West provincial congress (April 11).

Others include MDC Mashonaland East provincial congress (Marondera, April 12); MDC Mashonaland Central provincial congress (April 13); MDC Manicaland provincial congress (Mutare, April 14); MDC Masvingo provincial congress (Masvingo, April 16); and MDC Harare provincial congress (Harare, April 17).

Finally, the MDC Bulawayo provincial congress was held in Bulawayo on April 18; MDC Masvingo provincial congress (Masvingo, April 16); MDC Harare provincial congress (Harare, April 17); MDC UK & Ireland provincial congress (Ireland, April 21); and MDC South Africa provincial congress (Bloemfontein, South Africa, April 27).

“The Congress is running under the theme ‘Defining A New Course for Zimbabwe’,” Mafume said.


-0-  PANA       RA  28Apr2019