Panafrican News Agency

New Burkinabe govt. announces reconciliation and land reforms

Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso (PANA) - The Prime Minister of Burkina Faso, Christophe Marie Joseph Dabiré, on Monday announced that national reconciliation, land reform and the question of the Administration's performance will be the main focus of his new government which was formed on Sunday.

Mr Dabiré, who was speaking to the press at the end of the government's presentation to President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, said he had been asked to form a team around reconciliation, land and property reforms, and the strengthening of the administration, including the issue of salaries.

To accelerate the issue of reconciliation, "we have made a political opening to ensure political dialogue and accelerate the reconciliation process. We have appealed to other political forces to join this team," he explained.

According to him, there is a need to continue and strengthen the actions already carried out to consolidate Burkina Faso's strategic sectors.

"That is why," he said, "some departments have been merged or strengthened with others".

He noted the merger of the Department of Energy with that of Mines and Quarries, to give more consistency to energy issues and the Department of Agriculture which now takes into account the issue of mechanization.

Importance was given to the field of handicrafts which is experiencing a number of difficulties.

"We must work to make entrepreneurship develop in this sector," said Mr Dabiré.

The Prime Minister formed a government of 33 ministers, including seven deputy ministers and a minister attached to the Presidency.

In this government, Zéphirin Diabré, former leader of the Opposition, is appointed under the Presidency as Minister of State in charge of National Reconciliation and Social Cohesion.

Cherif Sy remains the Ministerf of Defense, along with Ousséni Comapré at Security and Alpha Barry at Foreign Affairs.

There were no changes in the Ministries of Finance (Lassané Kaboré), Education (Stanislas Ouaro), Higher Education (Alkassoum Maïga), Social Action (Hélène Ilboudo) and Commerce (Harouna Kaboré).

The newly-appointed ministers include Ousséni Tamboura as Minister of Communication and Government Spokesperson, Victoria Ouédraogo-Kibora, Minister of Justice, Minister of Health, Charlemagne Ouédraogo, Minister of Culture, Arts and Tourism, Elise ilboudo, and Minister of Sports and Leisure, Dominique Henri Nana.