Panafrican News Agency

African teams know their opponents at FIFA Futsal World Cup, Lithuania 2021

Zurich, Switzerland (PAPA) - Following the draws for the FIFA Futsal World Cup, Lithuania 2021, held on Tuesday, 1 June, 2021, at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, African teams now know their opponents for the World cup.

African champions, Morocco, were drawn in Group C besides Thailand, Portugal and Solomon Islands, while runners-up Egypt will play in Group B with Uzbekistan, Guatemala and Russian Football Union.

Debutants Angola were drawn in Group E with Japan, Paraguay and Spain.

Hosts Lithuania were drawn into Group A and will play the opening match of the tournament at Kaunas Arena against fellow debutants Venezuela on 12 September.

Morocco, Egypt and Angola qualified to the FIFA Futsal World Cup Lithuania 2021 after finishing in the top three spots of the 2020 Futsal Africa Cup of Nations, held in Morocco in January and February 2020.

Egypt is participating in the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the seventh time (an African record), having reached the quarterfinals in the 2016 edition held in Colombia before losing to eventual champions Argentina.

Morocco is appearing in the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the third time, while Angola are having their debut in the global championship.

The draw was conducted by Jaime Yarza, FIFA Director of Tournaments, assisted by two FIFA Legends: Kike, two-time Futsal World Cup champion with Spain in 2000 and 2004, and Edgaras Jankauskas, the first Lithuanian footballer to win the UEFA Champions League with Porto in 2004.

The FIFA Futsal World Cup, Lithuania 2021 will take place from 12 September to 3 October 2021 in the cities of Kaunas, Vilnius and Klaipėda.

Below are the groups -

Group A - Lithuania, Venezuela, Kazakhstan and Costa Rica.

Group B - Uzbekistan, Guatemala, Russia, Egypt.

Group C - Thailand, Portugal, Morocco, Solomon Islands.

Group D - Panmama, Czech Republic, Vietnam, Brazil.

Group E - Angola, Japan, Paraguay, Spain.

Group F - Argentina, USA, Serbia, Iran.

-0- PANA VAO 3June2021