Panafrican News Agency

2019-20 CAF Champions League: All eight qualifiers for knockout stage emerge

Cairo, Egypt (PANA) - At the end of the six-round group matches on Saturday, all the qualifiers for the quarter-finals of the 2019-20 CAF Champions league have emerged.

They are TP Mazembe of DR Congo and Zamalek of Egypt from Group A; Étoile du Sahel of Tunisia and Al-Ahly of Egypt from Group B; Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa and Wydad Casablanca of Morocco from Group C and Espérance de Tunis of Tunisia and Raja Casablanca of Morocco from Group D.

All the qualifiers will now line up for the quarter-finals, the first leg of which will be played 28 and 29 February and the second leg on 6-7 March.

Here are results of the final group matches played on Saturday.

Group A
1º de Agosto, Angola 0-0 Zamalek, Egypt
TP Mazembe, DR Congo 3-1 ZESCO United, Zambia

Group B
Al-Hilal, Sudan 1-1 Al-Ahly, Egypt
Étoile du Sahel, Tunisia 2-0 FC Platinum, Zimbabwe

Group C
USM Alger, Algeria 2-2 Petro de Luanda, Angola
Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa 1-0 Wydad Casablanca, Morocco

Group D
JS Kabylie, Algeria 1-0 Espérance de Tunis, Tunisia
Raja Casablanca, Morocco 1-0 AS Vita Club, DR Congo

Here now are the group standings after the six rounds of matches.

Group A              Points     
1 TP Mazembe      14
2 Zamalek               9
3 1º de Agosto         4
4 ZESCO United      3

Note - TP Mazembe and Zamalek have each won the title 5 times.

Group B                  Points     
2 Étoile du Sahel           12
1 Al-Ahly                         11  
 3 Al-Hilal                        10
4 FC Platinum                1

Note - Al Ahly have won the title eight times, and Étoile du Sahel just once.

Group C                        Points     
1 Mamelodi Sundowns     14       
2 Wydad Casablanca         9
3 Petro de Luanda              4
4 USM Alger                       3

Note - Wydad Casablanca have won it twice and Mamelodi Sundowns once.

Group D                       Points     
1 Espérance de Tunis     11      
2 Raja Casablanca          11
3 JS Kabylie                      7
4 AS Vita Club                  4

Note - Esperance have won it four times and Raja Casablanca three times.

-0- PANA VAO/AR 2Feb2020