South Africa: Suspended SABC journalists win media awards

Cape Town, South Africa (PANA) - In another humiliating blow for South Africa’s national broadcaster, South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), eight of its employees who are currently facing disciplinary hearings were awarded one of the country’s top media awards on Saturday night.

PANA reports that, Jacques Steenkamp, Suna Venter, Foeta Krige, Krivani Pillay, Busisiwe Ntuli, Vuyo Mvoko, Lukhanyo Calata, Thandeka Gqubule were all honoured with the Nat Nakasha award at a ceremony in Johannesburg.

The journalists were suspended for addressing their concerns over the SABC's editorial policies.

As previously reported by PANA, it was  a week of high drama after CEO Jimmi Matthews resigned, noting that, "the corrosive atmosphere at the SABC has impacted negatively on his moral judgement".

Also, hundreds of journalists protested outside the broadcasters Cape Town, Durban and Johannesburg offices after Matthews resignation.

The development was further compounded after Chief Operations Officer Hlaudi Motsoeneng sparked a national outcry when he announced that the SABC would no longer cover violent protests.

The World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) and the World Editors Forum (WEF) have written a joint letter to Motsoeneng, demanding the withdrawal of charges against the journalists

SABC acting political editor, Sophie Mokoena, who was present at the ceremony refused to comment on the award winners.

The annual Nat Nakasa Award is presented to a South African media practitioners in newspapers, magazines, broadcasting and online print media and those reporting or celebrating freedom of speech and media integrity.

It is named in honour of a black South African journalist and writer Nat Nakasa who was forced in exile during the Apartheid era and committed suicide in New York in 1965.
-0- PANA CU/AA 10July2016

10 july 2016 14:40:02

xhtml CSS