Six leaders attend Yamoussoukro ECOWAS mini summit

Yamoussoukro- Cote d'Ivoire (PANA) -- Five African presidents on Monday attended a mini-summit of the Economic Community of West African States convened by the Ivorian head of state, Laurent Gbagbo in Yamoussoukro.
Gbagbo opened the summit the presence of Presidents Abdoulaye Wade (Senegal), Olusegun Obasanjo (Nigeria), Gnassingbe Eyadema (Togo), Pedro Pires (Cape Verde) and John Kufuor of Ghana.
A statement issued by the President's office said that the daylong summit was aimed at "finding ways and means of making regional integration a reality".
Reliable sources in Cote d'Ivoire's political capital said that Gbagbo would also solicit his counterparts to attend the national reconciliation forum scheduled to start on 9 October in Abidjan.
Meanwhile, the presence transport ministers from Cote d'Ivoire, Senegal and Togo raised speculations that discussions would be held on the future of the multinational air company, Air Afrique.
The president of the three countries were handling the affairs of the airline until the last summit in Brazzaville, during which Air France obtained majority shares in Air Afrique.
The headquarters of ECOWAS, which was established in 1975, is in Abuja, Nigeria.
Its 15 member states are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.
Mauritania officially withdrew from the organisation in 1998.

10 september 2001 23:46:00

xhtml CSS