Senegal's new PM names cabinet

Dakar- Senegal (PANA) -- Senegalese President Abdoulaye Wade, late Tuesday issued a decree approving the government formed by newly appointed Prime Minister Adjibou Soumaré who got the top job few hours earlier, to replace Macky Sall, who is now a Member of Parliament.
The new 37-member team (as compared to 40 in previous cabinet) comprises 13 newcomers including eight women.
There is no appointee from members of the main opposition parties that boycotted parliamentary polls on 3 June 2007.
Here is the full makeup of the new cabinet: Prime Minister and head of the government: Adjibou Soumaré Foreign Affairs: Cheikh Tidiane Gadio (unchanged) Economy and Finance: Abdoulaye Diop (unchanged) Justice: Cheikh Tidiane Sy (unchanged) Interior: Ousmane Ngom (unchanged) Maritime Economy: Djibo Leïty Kâ (unchanged) Infrastructure, Urban Hydraulics and Sanitation: Habib Sy (unchanged) Environment and Nature Protection: Souleymane Ndéné Ndiaye (new) Other ministers are: Armed Forces: Bécaye Diop (unchanged) Urban Planning, Housing and Construction: Oumar Sarr (extended ministry) Decentralization and Local Development: Ousmane Masseck Ndiaye (shifted portfolio) Education: Moustapha Sourang (unchanged) Microfinance and decentralized Co-operation: Abdourahim Agne (unchanged) Women Affairs and Entrepreneurship: Awa Ndiaye (new) Craft Industry, Mining and Industry: Madické Niang (unchanged) Telecommunications, Posts and ICTs: Sophie Gladima Siby (new) Scientific Research: Yaye Kène Gassama Dia (unchanged) Health and Medical Prevention: Issa Mbaye Samb (changed post) Rural Hydraulics, National River System, Retention Basins and Artificial Lakes: Adama Sall (changed post) Culture and Listed Historic Heritage: Mame Biram Diouf (unchanged) Rural Development and Agriculture: Amath Sall (new) Livestock: Oumou Khaïry Guèye Seck (unchanged) Land and Air Transports: Farba Senghor (changed post) Information, Relations with Institutions, Government spokesperson: Bacar Dia (unchanged) Sports: Daouda Faye (unchanged) Living Environment and Public Health: Maïmouna Sourang Ndir (formerly minister of the Living Environment) National Solidarity: Fatou Bintou Taya Ndiaye (new) Youth and Employment: Mamadou Lamine Keïta (new) Energy: Samuel Ameth Sarr (unchanged) Civil Service, Labour and Progessional Organisations: Innocence Ntab (new) Competitiveness and Good governance: Fatou D.
Diagne (new) Trade: Amadou Habibou Ndiaye (new) Technical Education and Vocational Training: Moussa Sakho (new) Senegalese Expatriates: Aminatata Lô (new) Tourism: Fatou Gassama (new) National Languages and Francophonie: Mamadou Makalou (new) Junior Minister under the minister of Economy and Finance in charge of the Budget: Ibrahima Sarr (new) Junior Minister under the Rural Development and Agriculture minister in charge of Rural Development: Fatou Gaye Sarr (new).

20 juin 2007 13:17:00

xhtml CSS