Senegal announces squad for CAN 2002

Dakar- Senegal (PANA) -- Senegal's national coach Bruno Metsu Sunday evening released the list of players selected for the Cup of Nations finals scheduled to run 19 January through 10 February 2002 in Mali.
All 25 are professionals playing notably in France (18), Switzerland (3), Belgium (1), Italy (1) Portugal (1) and Morocco (1).
In all, Metsu selected 2 goalkeepers, 7 defenders, 10 midfielders and 6 attackers.
He has in fact maintained the team that played the CAN and World Cup qualifiers, to which he added Fary Faye (currently the second best scorer in the Portuguese premier league), Sylvain Ndiaye (Lille), Souleymane Camara (Monaco) and Alassane Ndour (Saint-Etienne).
Following is the list of the selected 25: Goalkeepers: Oumar Diallo (Khourigba, Morocco) Tony Sylva (Monaco) Defenders: Habib Bèye (Strasbourg), Ferdinand Coly (Lens), Aliou Cissé (Montpellier), Pape Malick Diop (Neuchâtel Xamax), Omar Daff (Sochaux), Mohamed Adama Sarr (Milan AC) and Lamine Diatta (Rennes).
Midfield: Alassane Ndour (Saint-Etienne), Salif Diao (Sedan), Pape Sarr (Lens), Pape Bouba Diop (Grashoppers, Zurich), Amdy Moustapha Faye (Auxerre), Moussa Ndiaye (Sedan), Makhtar Ndiaye (Rennes), Khalilou Fadiga (Auxerre), Cheikh Gadiaga (Belgium) and Sylvain Ndiaye (Lille).
Attackers: El Hadji Diouf (Lens), Henry Camara (Sedan), Pape Thiaw (Lausanne), Fary Faye (Beira Mar), Souleymane Camara (Monaco) and Amara Traoré (Gueugnon).

31 Dezembro 2001 15:12:00

xhtml CSS