President Lungu to attend BRICS summit in South Africa

Lusaka, Zambia (PANA) – Zambia President Edgar Lungu, will be among regional Heads of State attending the BRICS Summit being held in Johannesburg, South Africa, from 26-27 July, 2018, Zambia’s Foreign Affairs Minister Joseph Malanji, disclosed here Wednesday.

The BRICS is the acronym for an economic association of five major emerging national economies; Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa.

Malanji said President Lungu is travelling to this important meeting in response to an official invitation to attend the BRICS Africa Outreach Program by the in-coming Chairperson of BRICS and the Summit’s host, President Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa.

According to the ministry of Foreign Affairs, on the sidelines of the Summit, President Lungu will hold bilateral talks with Russian President Vladmir Putin, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdo, among others.

The five BRICS countries represent over 3.1 billion people, or about 41 percent of the world population; four out of five members (excluding South Africa at number 24) are in the top 10 of the world by population.

They have a combined GDP (PPP) of around US$40.55 trillion (32% of World’s GDP PPP) and an estimated US$4.46 trillion in combined foreign reserves.

The BRICS Africa Outreach Summit with African leaders seeks to ensure continuity from the 5th BRICS Summit held in Durban, South Africa, in 2013 and to provide BRICS’ support for African industrialization and infrastructure development.

Other African Heads of States invited to attend the BRICS-Africa Outreach Dialogue are: Rwanda – as Chair of the African Union (AU); Senegal – as Chair of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC); Gabon – as Chair of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS); Uganda – as Chair of the East African Community (EAC); Ethiopia – as Chair of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD); Togo – as Chair of the Economic Community of West Africa States (ECOWAS); Zambia – as incoming Chair of the SADC Organ on Defence, Politics. Namibia – as incoming Chair of the Southern African Development Community (SADC); Angola – as Chair of the SADC Organ; and Egypt – as Chair of the Group of 77 (G77) + China.
-0- PANA MM/VAO 25July2018

25 july 2018 17:48:38

xhtml CSS