PRC sets up committee on admitting AU observers

  Abuja- Nigeria (PANA) -- The Permanent Representatives Committee of the Africa Union (AU) has set up a five-nation committee to further deliberate on the criteria for admitting observers at the Executive Council and Assembly of Heads of State of the AU, spokesman Desmond Orjiako said here Thursday.
   The committee, which comprises Nigeria, Burundi, Senegal, Uganda and Zambia, is expected to make recommendations to the heads of state summit in July 2005.
   Orjiako said the PRC decided to set up the committee after failing to reach a consensus on the matter at the end of its deliberations in the Nigeria capital Wednesday.
   The PRC session is one of the two meetings leading up to the AU summit in Abuja 30-31 January.
   The Executive Council, which comprises foreign affairs ministers of member states, opened its two-day meeting in the Nigeria capital Thursday.

27 january 2005 16:06:00

xhtml CSS