Nigerian Senate honours Mandela, devotes Tuesday's session in his memory

Abuja, Nigeria (PANA) – The Nigerian Senate devoted Tuesday's session to celebrating the life of late South African President, Nelson Mandela.

Reporting from Abuja, PANA said the Senate observed one-minute silence in honour of the late icon, admonishing Nigerian leaders to embrace the attributes of Mandela to boost the drive towards transforming the country into a united and prosperous nation.

Adopting a motion, sponsored by the Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba and 107 other Senators, the Senate accordingly resolved to condole the people and Parliament of South Africa.

The lawmakers took their turns to pour encomium on Mandela.

Senate President, David Mark, whose suggestion that no other issue be treated by the Senate for the day was unanimously accepted, stated that of all the deeds of Mandela, forgiveness was most outstanding.

According to him, "the greatest of all the attributes and legacies of Mandela is forgiveness. That he was able to forgive those who threw him into jail for many years was an attribute worthy of emulation. He came out of prison determined to see a united South Africa. When it was obvious he was going to become the President, many Whites, in anticipation of vengeance, sold their properties and ran away from South Africa. But they regretted it because the man only preached forgiveness."

Senator Mark further submitted that there may never be another Nelson Mandela of the world.  

He, however, prayed that "even though we can never be Nelson Mandela of the world, we can be Mandela of our respective nations and societies. He was very convinced that he had a cause and he believed genuinely in it. When leaders believe they have a course, they will go for it. When a leader is honest, the followership would be honest. He was a leader who preached peace, forgiveness and justice."

In the lead debate, Ndoma-Egba noted that Mandela's sterling qualities was held in deep respect within South Africa, which earned him over 250 honours, including the 1993 Nobel Peace Prize, the US Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Soviet Order of Lenin and the Bharat Ratna.
-0- PANA MON/VAO 10Dec2013

10 december 2013 15:32:03

xhtml CSS