Nigeria: ECOWAS moves to reinstate interim government in Burkina Faso

Abuja, Nigeria (PANA) - West African leaders who met in Nigeria at an Extraordinary  Summit of the regional bloc ECOWAS on Tuesday have decided to send a high-level mission to Burkina Faso to ensure the reinstatement of the interim government.

The mission, which comprises leaders of six countries - Benin, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo - will also convey the message of solidarity from ECOWAS to the people and (interim) government of Burkina Faso.

The leaders of the six countries, who are due to travel to Ouagadougou on Wednesday, are to be accompanied on the mission by their Chiefs of Defence Staff, according to the communique issued after the one-day meeting in Nigeria's capital, Abuja.

Presidential guards ousted the interim government 17 Sept and detained interim President Michel Kafando and Prime Minister Isaac Zida, among others

The Summit also appointed President Boni Yayi of Benin as the ECOWAS Facilitator for Burkina Faso.

The Presidents of Senegal and Nigeria were also mandated to lead the process of kick-starting a national dialogue among the major stakeholders, and urged the African Union to rescind the suspension of Burkina Faso to facilitate the dialogue.

The ECOWAS leaders asked the members of presidential guards to lay down their arms, and urged the national army not to use violence, and to maintain the unity and cohesion of the country.

They urged Burkina Faso to set up a Solidarity Fund to help the victims of the coup.
-0- PANA SEG/AR 22Sept2015

22 سبتمبر 2015 20:05:59

xhtml CSS