Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea re-elected to AU PSC

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (PANA) - The African Union (AU) foreign ministers have elected new members to the Peace and Security Council, bringing on board Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Nigeria and Uganda, diplomats said here Sunday, the opening day of the 20th AU summit.

They will replace Kenya, representing East Africa, Zimbabwe (Southern Africa) while Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea were both re-elected for a further term of three years. Libya was replaced by Algeria in North Africa.

The newly-elected candidates will join Angola, Lesotho, Djibouti, Tanzania, Cameroon, Congo Republic, Gambia, Egypt, Cote d'Ivoire, Guinea Republic, all elected in 2012 for two-year stints at the PSC.

African leaders at the 27-28 January Summit where they will discuss key conflicts in Mali, the Central African Republic (CAR) and the crisis in the Democratic Republic of Congo, will approve the new PSC list.

The notable comebacks to the new list was Uganda, which served in previous sessions that suspended Madagascar from the AU membership.

Kampala won another three-year term at the helm of the PSC, arguably the most visible organ of the AU most consistently pronounced on conflicts.

Elections to the 15-member Council are often staggered to allow the aspect of continuity in its work. 

Those elected to the post will assume offices in April following the Summit approval.
-0- PANA AO/VAO 27Jan2013

27 janvier 2013 10:46:50

xhtml CSS