Monaco: IAAF announces nominees for World Athlete of the Year 2017

Monte Carlo, Monaco (PANA) - The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) on Monday announced the nominees for the World Athlete of the Year 2017, that includes six Africans from three countries.

The Africans are made up of three men and three women from Kenya, South Africa and Ethiopia.

The men are Elijah Manangoi from Kenya, and Luvo Manyonga and Wayde van Niekerk, both from South Africa while the women are Almaz Ayana from Ethiopia, Hellen Obiri from Kenya and Caster Semenya from South Africa.

An IAAF statement said this week marked the opening of the voting process for the 2017 World Athlete of the Year ahead of the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 in Monaco on 24 November.

The IAAF released a list of 10 men and 10 women nominees who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The nominees for 2017 World Athlete of the Year are:

Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Pawel Fajdek (POL)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Sam Kendricks (USA)
Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
Luvo Manyonga RSA)
Omar McLeod (JAM)
Christian Taylor (USA)
Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
Johannes Vetter (GER)

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
Hellen Obiri (KEN)
Sally Pearson (AUS)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brittney Reese (USA)
Caster Semenya (RSA)
Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

The statement said a three-way voting process would determine the finalists.

It said the IAAF Council and the IAAF Family would cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms. "Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook and Twitter later this week; a 'like' or 'favourite' will count as one vote."

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

IAAF said voting would close on 16 October.

"At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF. The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017."
-0- PANA MA 2Oct2017

02 october 2017 20:46:10

xhtml CSS