Membership of ECOWAS Commission enlarged from 9 to 15

Abuja, Nigeria (PANA) - ECOWAS leaders have decided to enlarge the membership of the Commission from nine to 15, in line with their agreement in Yamoussoukro, Cote d'Ivoire, last February under the ongoing institutional reform.

The expansion, which follows the transformation of ECOWAS from an Executive Secretariat to a Commission in 2007, seeks to ensure equity and sense of belonging among the 15 member states of the Community, set up in 1975 to facilitate regional economic development and integration as well as promote greater efficiency, the Commission said Friday.

The new-look Commission with non-renewable four-year tenure for each candidate is as follows:

Statutory Posts                                         Allocation
President                                                    Burkina Faso

Vice President                                           Liberia

Commissioner, Finance                         Sierra Leone

Microeconomic Policy &
Economic Research                                Mali

Commissioner, Trade, Customs
& Free Movement                                     Niger

Commissioner, Agriculture,
Environment & Water Resources        Togo

Commissioner, Infrastructure               The Gambia

Commissioner, Political Affairs,
Peace & Security                                      Nigeria

Commissioner, Social Affairs
& Gender                                                    Senegal

Commissioner, General
Administration & Conference               Ghana

Commissioner, Human Resources
& Management                                          Guinea Bissau

Commissioner, Education, Science
& Culture                                                    Benin

Commissioner, Energy & Mines          Guinea

Telecommunications-IT                         Cape Verde

Commissioner, Industry & Private
Sector Promotion                                    Cote d’Ivoire

In a communique at the end of their two-day mid-year summit in Abuja, the Nigerian capital, the ECOWAS leaders also allocated the statutory positions that have expired in the other Community Institutions as follows:

Financial Controller                                Nigeria

Director General GIABA                         Cote d’Ivoire

Deputy Director General GIABA          Ghana

Director General WAHO                         Niger

Deputy Director General WAHO          Benin

Judge 1, Community Court of
Justice                                                       Nigeria

Judge 2, Community Court of
Justice                                                       Liberia

Judge 3, Community Court of
Justice                                                       Mali

Judge 4, Community Court of
Justice                                                       Burkina Faso
-0- PANA SEG 19July2013

19 july 2013 11:13:33

xhtml CSS