Members of Gambia’s new Cabinet take oath

Banjul, Gambia (PANA) – Gambian President Adama Barrow is expected to preside over the swearing-in ceremony of the new Vice President, cabinet ministers and other top senior officials on Monday.

According to Mrs. Amie Bojang Sissoho, the Director of Press and Public Relations, Office of the President at State House in Banjul, Ousainou Darboe, the new Vice President and newly-appointed ministers and government spokesperson will take the oath to assume their respective duties.

The development followed a major government shake up couple of days ago when President Barrow  changed the vice president and many ministers.

Barrow dropped Fatoumata Jallow Tambajang as the country’s Vice President and Minister of Women Affairs and reportedly redeployed her to an undesignated foreign mission.

Ousainou Darboe, the former Minister of Foreign Affairs, has since been appointed as the new Vice President. Momodou Tangara, former Gambian Permanent Representative to the United Nations has been appointed as the new Foreign Affairs Minister.

Also Demba Ali Jawo, the former Minister of Information and Communications has been replaced by Ebrima Sillah, the former Director General of Gambia Radio and Television Services.

Omar Jallow, the former Minister of Agriculture has been sacked while Henry Gomez, the former Youth and Sports Minister, has now been appointed as Special Youth Adviser to the President.

Amadou Sanneh, the ex-Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs has been moved to Trade and Regional Integration as the new Minister and Mamburay Njie has been named as Sanneh’s replacement.

The former Trade Minister, Dr. Isatou Touray has now taken over as at the Ministry of Health and Social Welfare whose previous holder, Saffie Lowe Ceesay has been dropped.

Lamin N. Dibba, the former Minister of Lands and Regional Government, has been moved to serve as the new Agriculture Minister and he is replaced by a newcomer Musa Drammeh.

Another newcomer to the cabinet is Hadrammeh Sidibeh, who is now the Minister of Youth and Sports.
-0- PANA MLJ/MA 9July2018

09 juillet 2018 09:19:20

xhtml CSS