Kenya: Gumel, Nsekera re-elected IOC members

Nairobi, Kenya (PANA) - Long-serving sports administrator, Habu Gumel of Nigeria, and Burundi's Lydia Nsekera were among the 16 International Olympic Committee (IOC) members re-elected after eight years of membership, the IOC has said.

The 16, who were due for re-election, got the nod en bloc at a recent IOC Session in Lima, Peru. Gumel has held many positions in the sports world, at the national, continental and global levels. He is a former President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee.

Nsekera is a former Burundi Football Federation President. She is also a FIFA Council Member.

The others re-elected were Franco Carraro (Italy); John Coates (Australia); Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark; Iván Dibós (Peru); Ser Miang Ng (Sgp); Richard Peterkin (LCA); Richard W. Pound (Canada) and Princess Nora of Liechtenstein; Craig Reedie (GBR); Juan Antonio Samaranch (Spain); Pál Schmitt (Hungary); Austin L. Sealy (Bar); Sheikh Ahmad Al-Fahad Al-Sabah (Kuwait); and Shamil Tarpischev ().

In addition to being re-elected, Mr Coates got his status changed from member representing an NOC to individual member, the IOC says in a news dispatch

A former chair of the IOC Ethics Commission, Youssoupha Ndiaye (Senegal)) was granted the status of IOC honour member.

At the same time, the Olympic governing body also elected eight new members, a vice-president and three new Executive Board members.

Ms Anita  DeFrantz (USA), who joined the IOC in 1985, was elected as an IOC Vice-President. She previously, between 1997-2001, held the same position.

Dr Robin E. Mitchell, IOC member in Fiji,  Nicole Hoevertsz (Aruba), and Denis Oswald (Switzerland), were chosen by the Session to join the IOC Executive Board. They will serve a four-year term.

The IOC Session elected eight new members, who were proposed by the Executive Board in August.

Four members, three of them women, were picked in the Individual members category: Baklai Temengil (PLW); Kristin Kloster Aasen (Nor); Khunying Patama Leeswadtrakul (Tha); and Luis Mejia Oviedo (Dom).

President of the Pan-American Sports Organisation (PASO) Neven Ivan Ilic Alvarez (Chil) and President of the Oman Olympic Committee Khalid Muhammad Al Zubair were elected as representatives of a National Olympic Committee (NOC) or continental association of NOCs.

President of World Rowing Jean-Christophe Rolland (Fra) and President of the International Equestrian Federation  Ingmar de Vos (Belgium) were elected as members representing an International Federation.

Ahead of the upcoming 2020Tokyo Olympic Games,coupled with the important role Japan National Olympic Committee president Tsunekazu Takeda will play in its preparations, the IOC Session agreed to extend his age limit.

He will continue serving until the end of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Long-standing IOC Members Gerhard Heiberg (Nor) and Kun-Hee Lee (Kor) were elected as IOC honorary members after both resigned from their positions as members.
-0-PANA DJ/VAO 27Sept2017

27 september 2017 13:20:17

xhtml CSS