Govt. to honour 275 Nigerians, foreigners

Lagos- Nigeria (PANA) -- Some 266 Nigerians and nine foreigners are to receive Nigeria's national awards this year, to mark the country's 41st independence anniversary being celebrated 1 October, an official statement said Sunday.
Among the recipients are Senate President Anyim Pius Anyim, listed for the second highest award of the Grand Commander of the Niger (GCON), while Adebayo Adedeji, former Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa, and Chief of Defence Staff Rear Admiral Ibrahim Ogohi, will get the Commander of the Federal Repubic (CFR).
Pencilled for the Commander of he Niger (CON) award are the defunct Western State governor Oluwole Rotimi, Hasan Adamu, former Environment Minister and Nigeria's former Ambassador to the UN, as well as Diete Spiff, former governor of Rivers State.
Justice Atinuke Ige, wife of incumbent Justice Minister and Federal Attorney-General Bola Ige, is to receive the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) award, which is also being awarded to author and educationist Chukwuemeka IKe.
Listed for the Order of the Niger (OON) award are Wada Maida, Managing Director of the News Agency of Nigeria, Ndidi Okereke-Onyiuke, Director-General of the Nigerian Stock Exchange, Lagos Human rights lawyer Olisa Agbakoba, and Christian Onoh, former governor of the eastern State of Anambra.
African track queen Mary Onyali-Omagbemi is to get the Member of the Federal Republic (MFR) award.
Among the foreigner-recipients are African-American Andrew Young, US former envoy to the UN, who is to receive an OFR along with businessman A.
Catholic Missionary Father Slattery, former Principal of St.
Finbarr's College, Lagos, is to get an OON award.
The recipients are to be decorated in Mid-November.
The annual award to individuals for outstanding contributions or performance in various walks of life, was suspended during military rule, but revived following the return of democracy to Nigeria in 1999.

30 september 2001 16:57:00

xhtml CSS