Ghana coach Appiah names squad for final 2018 FIFA WC qualifier with Egypt

Accra, Ghana (PANA) - Kwesi Appiah, coach of Ghana's senior national football team, has called up 23 players for the final 2018 FIFA World Cup Africa Group E qualifier against Egypt next month.

The match between the Black Stars and the Pharaohs of Egypt will be played in Cape Coast on 12 November, the Ghana Football Association (GFA) announced on Wednesday in a statement.

The result of the match will only be for the records as Egypt have already clinched the only slot from the group and therefore qualified for Russia 2018.

GFA said the coach is, however, expected to use the match to further assess the development of the team.

According to a statement from GFA, Skipper Asamoah Gyan returns to the side after missing the team's last two matches through injury. However, Atletico Madrid midfielder, Thomas Partey, who captained the Black Stars in the absence of Asamoah Gyan, is suspended for due to accumulated yellow cards. The team is also still without the Ayew brothers - Andrew and Jordan.

Egypt top the group with 12 points. Uganda are second with 8 points, Ghana have 6 points and Congo have 1 point.

Below is the full squad:

GOALKEEPERS : Richard Ofori (Maritzburg, South Africa), Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars, Ghana), Lawrence Ati (Sochaux, France).

DEFENDERS: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Daniel Opare (Augsburg, Germany), Lumor Agbenyenu (Portimonse, Portugal), Abas Mohammed (Harrisburg City, USA), Nicholas Opoku (Club Africain, Tunisia), Kasim Nuhu (Young Boys, Switzerland), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England)

MIDFIELDERS: Joseph Attamah (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Mubarak Wakaso (Alaves, Spain), Ebenezer Ofori (Stuttgart, Germany), Godfred Donsah (Bologna, Italy), Nasiru Mohammed (BK Hacken, Sweden), Patrick Twumasi (Astana FC, Kazakhstan), Nana Ampomah (Waasland-Beveren, Belgium), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Edwin Gyasi (Aalesund, Norway).

FORWARDS: Raphael Dwamena (FC Zurich, Switzerland), Asamoah Gyan (Kayerispor, Turkey), Majeed Waris (Lorent, France), Boakye Yiadom (Crvena Zvezda, Serbia)
-0- PANA MA 1Nov2017

01 november 2017 08:10:23

xhtml CSS