FIFA announces Seeding Pots for final draw for 2017 World Cup

Zurich, Switzerland (PANA) - With Peru completing the line-up of 32 teams for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia, the seeding pots for the final draw on 1 December have been announced on Thursday by FIFA, the world football governing body.

It was confirmed in September, by the Organising Committee for FIFA Competitions, that all teams will be allocated to (eight-team) pots 1 to 4 based on sporting principles.

The October 2017 edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking will be used to allocate all qualified teams to the four pots according to their ranking in descending order, after hosts Russia, who take the top seeding spot.

With those factors in mind, here are the final pots for the Final Draw:

POT 1: Russia, Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland, France

POT 2: Spain, Peru, Switzerland, England, Colombia. Mexico, Uruguay, Croatia

POT 3: Denmark, Iceland, Costa Rica, Sweden, Tunisia, Egypt, Senegal, Iran

POT 4: Serbia, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia

FIFA said that the principle of drawing the teams into the groups will remain unchanged. This means that no teams from the same confederation, with the exception of UEFA, which could have up to two teams in the same group, will be drawn into the same group.

The Final Draw will take place on Friday 1 December at Moscow’s State Kremlin Palace.
-0- PANA MA 16Nov2017

16 november 2017 11:02:22

xhtml CSS