FIFA U-17 WC: Nigeria begins title defence

Santiago, Chile (PANA) - Four-time winner Nigeria begins the defence of its FIFA under-17 title on Saturday with a Group A match against the US, whose previous record is a fourth-place finishing in 1999.

Nigeria, winner of the title in 1985, 1993, 2007 and 2013, will be seeking its fifth championship in at the 2015 event in Chile though Group A against the US, hosts Chile and Croatia.

On record, Nigeria should easily win the group, as no strong opposition is lining their route. Chile is a 1989 third-place finisher and Croatia has never won a medal at the competition.

Four African teams -- Guinea, Mali, Nigeria and South Africa -- will fly the African flag at the 24-team tournament, to be held from 17 Oct to 8 Nov. 2015.

Guinea is in Group B, Mali in Group D and South Africa in Group E.

Nigeria is the most successful nation in the tournament's history, with four titles and three runners up. Brazil is the second most successful with three titles and two runners up. Ghana and Mexico have won the tournament twice.

Here are the opening fixtures:

Group A
Nigeria vs USA
Chile vs Croatia

Group B
England vs Guinea
Brazil vs Korea Republic
-0- PANA VAO/MA 17Oct2015

17 october 2015 10:19:46

xhtml CSS