Panafrican News Agency

Ex-VP Jallow Tambajang nominated for AU vice-chair

Banjul, Gambia (PANA) -  Former Gambian Vice-President Fatoumatta Jallow Tambajang was Monday nominated by the West African nation to contest the position of vice-chair of the African Union Commission, official  sources told  PANA here.

The source said Tambajang’s candidature was endorsed by the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) following her nomination by the government of The Gambia.

The ECOWAS region is also backing Ambassador Martha Ama Akyaa Pobee of Ghana for the same position.

Dr Katim Touray and Ernest Aubee, both Gambians, have also expressed interest to contest the position of vice-chair of the African Union Commission.

Dr. Touray is a former researcher for the ministry of Agriculture in The Gambia while Aubee  served as head of the Agriculture division at the ECOWAS Commission.

ECOWAS on 28 August, 2020, submitted the list of the three selected Gambian officials and their regional peers from countries of the West African region competing for the advertised positions to the African Union Commission.

Tambajang was an advisor to Dawda Jawara, the first president of the Gambia, on women's issues and children's affairs.

She also chaired the Gambia National Women's Council and represented it in the Gambia National Economic and Social Council for six years.

Tambajang served as the secretary of state for Health and Social Welfare from 1994 to 1995 in the Armed Forces Provisional Ruling Council cabinet

Tambajang was born in Brikama, 25 km outside Banjul, the Gambia. She was educated in the Gambia, Dakar and France.

She completed a BA in French at the University of Nice, Sophia Antipolis.

The Gambian politician and activist served as vice-president of the Gambia and minister of Women's Affairs from February 2017 to June 2018, under President Adama Barrow.

She was awarded 'New African Woman of the Year’ by New African Woman Magazine in April 2017. 

In March 2017, Tambajang joined the Crans Montana African Women's Forum Honorary Committee


-0-     PANA       MSS/RA     7Sept2020