ECOWAS introduces new accreditation for ambassadors

Lagos- Nigeria (PANA) -- The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) will on Tuesday accredit seven ambassadors from its member countries under a recently-introduced accreditation scheme.
The ECOWAS Secretariat said in Abuja this weekend that the Executive Secretary Mohammed Ibn Chambas will accredit the the ambassadors, who include Benoit Adekambi of Benin, Emile M'Lingui Keffa of Cote d'Ivoire and Maba O.
Jobe of The Gambia.
Others are Martin O.
George of Liberia, Seydou Diatigui Diarra of Mali, Browson Dede of Nigeria and Christopher Blell of Sierra Leone.
ECOWAS said the exercise, to be performed at its secretariat in Abuja, will provide the Executive Secretary the second opportunity to formally meet the envoys after their first meeting on 20 February 2002, shortly after assuming office.
In a related development, the Russian Ambassador to Nigeria, Gennady Ilytchev, will next Monday be accredited as his country's Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, with an observer status to ECOWAS.
Ilytchev will present his credentials to ECOWAS Executive Secretary at the ceremony.
The accreditation "is expected to revitalise and further reinforce the co-operation between ECOWAS and the Russian Federation, especially through the development of initiatives and the realisation of concrete actions that will contribute to the well-being of both the peoples of West Africa and Russia," the ECOWAS statement said.

16 march 2002 14:29:00

xhtml CSS