ECOWAS: 7 new judges of ECOWAS Community Court to be installed 4 Feb.

Abuja, Nigeria (PANA) - The seven new judges of the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice will be installed during the opening ceremony of the Court’s 2014/2015 legal year on Wednesday by the Chairman of the Judicial Council of the Community, Justice Mamadou Kone, who is also President of the Supreme Court of Cote d’Ivoire.

The Court's communications unit said in a statement made available to PANA here Monday that this year’s ceremony is on the theme ''The Effectiveness of ECOWAS Community Law: challenges of enforcement'', and it is designed to draw attention to the need to operationalise the mechanism in the Court’s Supplementary Protocol relating to the enforcement of the judgements of the 14-year old Court by member states.

The new Judges were sworn in on 18 June 2014 in Accra by President John Dramani Mahama of Ghana, current ECOWAS chairman.

The President of the Court, Hon. Justice Maria Do Céu Monteiro, will officially open the year, an annual event in the calendar of the Court held at its headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria's capital.

Among the dignitaries expected at the ceremony are Nigeria’s Attorney General and Minister of Justice, the President of the ECOWAS Commission, the Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament and Presidents of the West African and Nigerian Bar Associations.

Also expected are members of the diplomatic corps and the human rights community, including Prof. Chidi  Anselm Odinkalu, Chairman of the Human Rights Commission of Nigeria, who is the Guest Speaker at the ceremony.
-0- PANA SEG/AR 2Feb2015

02 فبراير 2015 18:05:35

xhtml CSS