E/Guinea to become APRM's 31st member Wednesday

Malabo, Equatorial Guinea (PANA) - Equatorial Guinea will Wednesday become the 31st member of the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) when the country's head of state, Teodoro Obiang Nguema signs the forum's Memorandum of Understanding on the sidelines of the 17th Summit of the African Union (AU).

Equatorial Guinea will Wednesday, in Malabo, host the 15th Summit of the Forum of Heads of State and Government of APRM and with Nguema signing the APRM MoU, the country comes after Liberia, which made its entry 29 January, 2011, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, at the 16th AU Summit.

The Act of Accession to the APRM commits the authorities of Equatorial Guinea to be assessed in the areas of democracy, governance and socio-economic development and implement the national APRM structures to facilitate the completion of the evaluation process.

The most important national structure to put in place is the National Commission on Governance, an organization which must be independent vis-à-vis the government, with the task of defining the strategic and political direction for the implementation of APRM, in which all stakeholders, namely, the private sector, parliament, civil society, media, youth, women, disabled people, marginalized groups, rural populations, the judiciary, etc, will be represented.

APRM, which was established in 2003 as part of the implementation efforts for the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD), is an instrument of self-assessment the AU member states can join freely and voluntarily.

It works on the basis of principles based on transparency, accountability and the absence of any pressure and political or diplomatic manipulation, with the primary purpose of encouraging the adoption of policies, standards and practices to promote political stability, high economic growth, sustainable development and accelerated sub-regional and continental economic integration.

APRM has, to date, 30 member countries, of which 14 have already been evaluated (Ghana, Rwanda, Kenya, South Africa, Algeria, Benin, Uganda, Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Mali, Mozambique, Lesotho, Mauritius and Ethiopia).
-0- PANA JEN/BOS 28June2011

28 Junho 2011 14:02:21

xhtml CSS