Cote d'Ivoire: Two women win Africa Food Prize 2017

Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire (PANA) - Kenyan nutritionist, Ruth Oniang'o and Malian entrepreneur Maimouna Sidibé Coulibaly, were on Wednesday named as joint winners of the 2017 Africa Food Prize award.

The announcement was made by former President of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo, who is chairman of the Africa Food Prize committee.

They received their prize of US$100,000 dollars from Ivorian President Alassane Ouattara at the official opening of the seventh Africa Green Revolution Forum (AGRF).

The award, established in 2005 under the name Yara Prize, which became the Africa Food Prize in 2016, is to honour those who make significant contributions to the agricultural sector and food production in order to combat hunger and reduce poverty by Africa.

The 2017 edition recorded more than 600 entries.
-0- PANA BAL/JSG/MTA/MA 6Sept2017

06 september 2017 19:57:47

xhtml CSS