Cape Verde seminar sizes up ECOWAS

Praia- Cape Verde (PANA) -- A seminar on the advantages of Cape Verde's integration into the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) will hold here 8 and 9 September in the presence of ECOWAS secretary general Mohamed Ibn Chambas.
The seminar would feature ECOWAS programmes in the fields of tourism, agriculture, water resources, energy and information technologies.
Alongside the meeting, an ECOWAS delegation will hold a working session with Cape Verde officials, including Economy minister Joao Pereira Silva.
Cape Verde has already received funding from the ECOWAS investment and development bank (BIDC), the last instance dating only last June to the tune of 10 million dollars for projects in the health and infrastructure sectors.
Established in 1975, ECOWAS member countries include Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

02 september 2004 22:56:00

xhtml CSS