CAF VP Amaju Pinnick to meet with FIFA Council member candidates in Moscow

Moscow, Russia (PANA) - CAF 1st  Vice President Amaju Pinnick who doubles as the Nigeria Football federation (NFF) President, is scheduled to meet with candidates for the vacant FIFA council member (CAF) position for Africa in Moscow on Sunday.

The seat fell vacant after Kwesi Nyantakyi resigned in June following a sting operation by Ghana’s investigative journalist Anas Aremayew Anas.

The Elections for an African on the new-look FIFA Council will be held in Cairo, Egypt, on 30 September, 2018.

According to CAF media channel, among the candidates that have thrown their hats in the ring for the contest are Elvis Chetty (Seychelles), Moses Magogo (Uganda), Walter Nyamilandu (Malawi), Frans Mbidi (Namibia) and Danny Jordan (South Africa).

Speaking in Moscow, Pinnick said: “We want to listen to all the candidates seeking the position of the FIFA Council member then make an informed decision. We want to ensure fairness and equal participation of all the candidates who have shown interest. The contest should be free and fair”.

In the past, the contests have been painstakingly choreographed by former long-standing CAF president, Issa Hayatou, but things have since changed as the contestants are now allowed to battle it out among themselves for the post to be decided by the CAF’s 5-member associations.

All candidates face integrity checks, conducted by FIFA, before their names will be confirmed for the ballot at CAF’s extraordinary general meeting.

Africa has seven places on the FIFA Council, which was renamed and expanded since Gianni Infantino came to power in 2016.

One place is automatically reserved for the CAF president Ahmad and another for a female representative.

African (CAF) members at the FIFA Council include CAF President Ahmad Ahamd, Tarek Bouchamoui of Tunisia, Hany Abo Rida (Egypt), Omari Constant Selemani of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Burundi’s Lydia Nsekera, and Almamy Kabele Camara of Guinea to represent Africa on the FIFA Council for the period 2017-2021.
-0- PANA VAO 15July2018

15 juillet 2018 11:36:43

xhtml CSS