Benin signs accord for fourth ECOWAS observatory

Cotonou- Benin (PANA) -- The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), has signed an agreement with Benin for the siting of the Community's fourth conflict observatory headquarters zone in Cotonou.
The zone covers Benin, Nigeria and Togo.
Benin Minister of Foreign Affairs and Co-operation, Antoine Idji Kolawole and the ECOWAS Executive Secretary Lansana Kouyate initialled the accord this week.
The establishment of the observatory zones is part of the initiative for the implementation of the ECOWAS Mechanism for the Prevention, Management and Resolution of conflicts in the sub-region.
Kouyate said the four observatories located in Banjul (Gambia) Monrovia (Liberia), Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso) and Cotonou (Benin), would gather information on conflicts likely to flare in their areas of coverage, which would be transmitted to the central base in Abuja, Nigeria, for analysis.
Benin is the second country after Burkina-Faso to sign the headquarters agreement for the observatory.

25 avril 2001 17:41:00

xhtml CSS