AU Executive Council names 10 new PSC members

Addis Ababa- Ethiopia (PANA) -- The Executive Council of the African Union (AU) meeting here has elected 10 countries as new members of the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the Union for a term of two years.
Elected to represent the five geographical regions of the AU on the Council are: Burundi and Chad (Central Africa), Rwanda and Uganda (Eastern Africa ), Tunisia (Northern Africa) , Swaziland and Zambia (Southern Africa) and Benin, Burkina Faso and Mali (Western Africa).
The PSC is composed of 15 members, five of them elected for a term of three years in order to ensure continuity.
Algeria, Angola, Ethiopia, Gabon and Nigeria were elected as members of the PSC for a three-year term from March 2007.

30 يناير 2008 12:06:00

xhtml CSS