5 new members elected into African Rights Commission

Accra- Ghana (PANA) -- Five new members, comprising four women and one man, have been elected into the African Commission on Human and People's Rights (ACHPR).
At the elections held during the meeting of the African Union (AU) Executive Council (foreign ministers) in Accra, Ghana, late Friday, the four members, from Mozambique, Mauritius, Nigeria and Mali were elected into six-year terms, while the fifth member from Rwanda was elected into a two-year term.
Fifteen candidates from the AU member states vied for the five slots in the 11-member ACHPR.
Only 48 of the 53 member states took part in the elections because five members could not vote as they are yet to meet their financial obligations to the AU.
ACHPR is charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of human and people's right throughout Africa.
The election was held ahead of the 1-3 July 9th ordinary summit of the AU in the Ghanaian capital.

30 juin 2007 17:42:00

xhtml CSS