40 heads of state expected at AU summit in Accra

Accra- Ghana (PANA) -- About 40 Heads of state and government are expected to participate at the 9th ordinary session of the African Union (AU) scheduled to start Sunday in Accra, Ghana.
Leaders who will be notably absent at the crucial summit, tagged the 'grand debate of the AU on the Union Government", include Sudanese President Omar El-Bashir, who has been in the eye of the storm over the crisis in his country's western Darfur region.
Sudan is expected to be represented by its Foreign Minister, Lam Akol, just like other countries whose Presidents or Prime Ministers are not attending, according to an official list of leaders attending the summit.
Countries to be represented by their heads of state or government include host Ghana, Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo Brazzaville, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia and Equatorial Guinea.
Others are Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Meanwhile, 13 of the leaders have arrived in the Ghanaian capital as at 4 pm local time Saturday.
The early arrivals include Presidents Abdelaziz Bouteflika of Algeria; Mwai Kibaki of Kenya; Ahmed Beebeejaun of Mauritius; Mamadou Tandja of Niger; Ahmad Tejan Kabbah of Sierra Leone; Jakaya Kikwete of Tanzania, Levy Mwanawasa of Zambia and Ahmed Sambi of the Comoros.
Others who are already in Accra are Francois Bozize of Central Africa Republic; Omar Bongo Ondimba of Gabon; Marc Ravolomanana of Madagascar and Moammar Kadhafi of Libya, who made a grand entry in a caravan of over 100 vehicles and more than 1,000 members of delegation.
Preparatory meetings for the historic summit started 25 June with a meeting of the Permanent Representatives Committee, comprising of ambassadors of the member states to the AU Commission in Addis Ababa.
The meeting of the Executive Council, made of foreign ministers of member states, was held 28-29 June.

30 juin 2007 17:51:00

xhtml CSS