37 Countries ratify African Union Treaty

Dakar- Senegal (PANA) -- The General Secretariat of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) now awaits only "three instruments of ratification" before officially announcing the "entry into force of the African Union Constitutive Act," sources close to the OAU legal Department revealed Thursday.
"As of today, Thursday 19 April, 33 countries have effectively deposited their instruments of ratification.
Four others, namely Benin, Guinea Bissau, South Africa and Mauritius, have also informed the Secretariat that they have completed their ratification procedure and promised to transmit the instruments very shortly," the sources said.
With the required two-thirds majority virtually attained, only 16 of the 53 OAU member States are yet to ratify the Union's Constitutive Act.
Two of the 16 "latecomers," namely Cape Verde and Ghana, have, however, blamed the delay on the renewal of their parliamentary institutions.
The other 14, are: Algeria, Angola, Cameroon, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Gabon, Guinea Conakry, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nigeria and Swaziland.
The Treaty was signed by all 53 member States between the OAU's 36th Summit, held in Lome, Togo in July 2000, and the 5th extra-ordinary Summit, held in Sirte, Libya, early March.

19 april 2001 20:18:00

xhtml CSS