3 political parties want Mauritania to re-join ECOWAS

Nouakchott, Mauritania (PANA) – Elated at the key roles played by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the successes it has achieved in the sub-region, three parties from the ruling majority coalition in Mauritania on Thursday urged their government to re-join the 15-member regional bloc.

Mauritania withdrew from ECOWAS in 1999 to join the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU).

"ECOWAS plays key roles in strengthening democracy, the fight against military coups and economic integration in the region. In addition, several Mauritanian nationals are living in member countries of the organization," Mustapha Ould Abiedrahmane, the chair of the Democratic Renewal (RD), said.

Speaking at a press conference, Abiedrahmane said that Mauritania could only play an active role in finding a solution to the Malian crisis after re-joining ECOWAS.

ECOWAS is currently made up of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.
-0- PANA SAS/AAS/MSA/VAO 19April2012

19 Abril 2012 18:53:06

xhtml CSS