2018 FIFA World Cup: Nigeria reveal 30-man provisional squad

Lagos, Nigeria (PANA) - Nigeria has named a 30-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup, Russia 2018, featuring the usual faces, including captain John Mikel Obi.

The squad, published in the CAF website, is dominated by foreign-based players with only three locals, including the rave of the moment on the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL), Junior Lokosa, who has scored 18 goals in 21 matches for Kano Pillars this season.

Other local-based players are goalkeepers Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Dele Ajiboye, who both featured recently at the Total African Nations Championship (CHAN) in Morocco.

Another surprise addition is Italy-based, uncapped Simeon ‘Simy’ Nwankwo, who has been impressive for Crotone this season

The Super Eagles are drawn in Group D along with Croatia, Iceland and Argentina at the Russia 2018 World Cup and will begin preparation for their sixth appearance at the Mundial with a valedictory home match on 28 May in Port-Harcourt against Democratic Republic of Congo. Thereafter, the Super Eagles will play against England at Wembley Stadium on 2 June and sign off against Czech Republic on 6 June in Austria.

The Full Squad is as follows:-

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo de La Coruna, Spain), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United).

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor, Turkey), Leon Balogun (Mainz 05, Germany), Olaoluwa Aina (Chelsea, England), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes, France), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands), Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria).

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey) John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva, Israel), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Moses Simon (Gent, Belgium), Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars), and Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy).
-0- PANA VAO 15May2018

15 may 2018 15:38:25

xhtml CSS