2018 FIFA WC: FIFA names 13 VARs for World Cup Russia

Zurich, Switzerland (PANA) - The FIFA Referees Committee has selected 13 referees who will act solely as video assistant referees (VARs) during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia.

FIFA said on its website, FIFA.com, on Monday that the selection criteria for these VARs were primarily based on their "experience as video match officials in their respective association and confederation competitions, in addition to their successful participation in several preparatory seminars and FIFA competitions, where they enhanced their VAR knowledge and skills by using the system".

Each match at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia will have a VAR together with three assistants, AVAR1, AVAR2, AVAR3.

There are nine VARs from Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), three from South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) and one from Asian Football Confederation (AFC).

FIFA said in addition to these 13 referees, who will act solely as video assistant referees, some of the referees and assistant referees who have been selected for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia will also act as video match officials during FIFA’s flagship competition. These appointments will be confirmed before each match.

The following is the list:
Al Jassim Abdulrahman (Qatar)

Sampaio Wilton (Brazil)
Vargas Gery (Bolivia)
Vigliano Mauro (Argentina)

Dankert Bastian (Germany)
Makkelie Danny (Netherlands)
Dias Soares Artur (Portugal)
Orsato Daniele (Italy)
Gil Pawel (Poland)
Valeri Paolo (Italy)
Irrati Massimiliano (Italy)
Zwayer Felix (Germany)
Lopez Martins Tiago Bruno (Portugal)
-0- PANA MA 30April2018

30 april 2018 11:57:51

xhtml CSS