2017 FIFA Beach Soccer WC: Senegal, Nigeria in opening matches

Nassau, Bahamas (PANA) - Two African countries, Senegal and Nigeria, will participate in the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, kicking off on Thursday, 27 April in Nassau, Bahamas.

The 27 April to 7 May, 2017, tournament will be the 9th edition of the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, the premier international beach soccer championship contested by men's national teams of member associations of FIFA.

Previous editions before 2005 were not governed by FIFA rules and were held under the title - Beach Soccer World Championships.

Overall this will be the 19th edition of the World Cup since its establishment in 1995. It is also the fourth tournament to take place under the biennial basis; the World Cup now takes place once every two years, after taking place on a yearly basis between 1995 and 2009.

Portugal is the defending champion.

The following 16 teams qualified for the final tournament. In addition to Bahamas which qualified automatically as hosts, the other 15 teams qualified from six separate continental competitions.

AFC (Asia) - Iran, Japan, United Arab Emirates.

CAF (Africa) - Nigeria, Senegal.

CONCACAF (North, Central America & Caribbean) - Host nation Bahamas, Mexico, Panama.

CONMEBOL (South America) - Brazil, Ecuador, Paraguay.

OFC (Oceania) - Tahiti.

UEFA (Europe) - Italy, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland.

As part of the opening programme on Thursday, the following matches have been scheduled:-

Group A
Ecuador vs Senegal
Bahamas vs Switzerland

Group B
Iran vs Mexico
Nigeria vs Italy

Opening matches in Groups C and D will be held on Friday.

Note - Organizers say that each team earns three points for a win in regulation time, two points for a win in extra time, one point for a win in a penalty shoot-out, and no points for a defeat.

The top two teams of each group advance to the quarter-finals.
-0- PANA VAO/MA 27April2017

27 april 2017 05:41:08

xhtml CSS