2015 FIFA WWC: Defending champion, Japan, completes 1/4 final line up

Vancouver, Canada (PANA) - Title holder Japan Tuesday "waltzed" through to the quarter-finals of the ongoing 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada after a 2-1 win over debutant Netherlands in Vancouver.

According to the FIFA media outlet, Japan controlled the Round of 16 contest, taking possession from the first minute with the Dutch struggling for ideas against an organised defence.

Netherlands did have an early salvo from Sherida Spitse, which flew over the bar from 20 metres.

But it was Japan that took the lead on just 10 minutes following a Yuki Ogimi header onto the bar, with Saori Ariyoshi scoring with a flat shot from inside the box.

It seemed to be a similar tale after the break as Netherlands’ Mandy Van den Berg almost inadvertently turned home an own goal following Nahomi Kawasumi’s cross soon after the break.

However, Netherlands twice saw the ball cleared off the line as Japan defender Sameshima was saved by a superb block by her own goalkeeper Ayumi Kaihori, who made a superb reflex block, with Kirsten Van Den Ven unable to fire through a sea of legs.

It proved a costly miss as Japan doubled its lead within a minute as Mizuho Sakaguchi sweetly fired a shot home from the edge of the penalty area to put a fine flourish on a classily-worked move.

Van Den Ven pulled a consolation goal back during injury time with a header that Kaihori somehow let through her grasp.

Japan therefore completes the eight-team line up in the quarter finals.

The other seven qualifiers are as follows:-
England (quarter-finalist in 1995).
USA (winner in 1991 and 1999).
Germany (winner in 2003 and 2007).
France (fourth-place finisher in 2011).
China (runner up in 1999).
Australia (quarter-finalist in 2007 and 2011).
Host Canada (fourth-place finisher in 2003).

Quarter-final fixtures to be played Friday and Saturday.

Friday 26 June at the Olympic Stadium, Montreal - Germany vs France.

Friday 26 June at the Lansdowne Stadium, Ottawa - China PR vs USA,

Saturday 27 June at the Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton - Australia vs Japan.

Saturday 27 June at the BC Place Stadium, Vancouver - England vs Canada.
-0- PANA VAO/SEG 24June2015

24 june 2015 07:53:40

xhtml CSS