'Only 2 countries have ratified African charter on democracy'

Addis Ababa- Ethiopia (PANA) -- Only two African Union (AU) member countries - Ethiopia and Mauritania - have ratified the African Charter on democracy, elections and governance while 26 others have neither signed nor ratified the document, an official source told PؤNA here on Tuesday.
Among the signatory countries, 25 have still not ratified the Charter, which was passed in January 2007 in Addis Ababa and expected to come into force 30 days after the submission of the 15th ratified instrument.
The Charter is important because of its significance to the issues of democracy, elections and governance, especially amid the seeming resurgence of military coups on the continent.
Experts said that the AU would continuously face difficulty in addressing security issues, especially those related to coups and internal conflicts, as long as African leaders would not adhere to the legal instruments they have themselves adopted.
Since the establishment of the Organisation for the African Unity (OAU), which has metamorphosed into the AU, African leaders have passed 35 treaties, with 21 (60%) of them coming into force.

03 Fevereiro 2009 13:12:00

xhtml CSS